Linda's Professional Journey

An Academic Librarian's experiences and notes

ACRL NY’s Publish or Perish Presentation

leave a comment »

I was able to attend an informal presentation on the Publish or Perishing ideal for librarians at the Brooklyn campus’s Long Island University. It was a short trip for me to go to the LIU, so I was surprised when I found out that it was for free to library students. I quickly rsvp for it and I spent three hours listening to about four different presentations, made by some cool librarians.

These are some things that I learned today… so a nutshell and recap…

  • Fiction writing can be considered as a venue of publishing.
  • The area of written research of librarians who write outside of the LIS field is heavily under researched.
  • Starting small is actually not such a bad idea.
  • That there is a Meet up group for NY Librarians.
  • Posters board presentations can lead to articles.
  • Jayne Ann Krentz might have a librarian background…. or at least she is sensitive to the ideas of librarianship.

Publishing is a life’s goal of mine, so I am sure that I will see these librarians again… now I need to roll up my sleeves and take more of a proactive approach to writing for the NRMT VOICE!

For more information, and as a plug, here’s a link to their wordpress.. There are handouts, and presentation links there, because as an effort to be green.. no paper was distributed at the presentation.

Written by Linda

December 12, 2008 at 11:33 pm

Posted in Events/Conferences

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

