Linda's Professional Journey

An Academic Librarian's experiences and notes

Research – any solution on portablilty?

leave a comment »

Research, something I find myself surrounded by. I like to read about new things, and prefer to save .pdf vesrsions from the databases I can seach through, but what about moments when you’re on the road or in my case, the train. I can’t always heft around my laptopn, and have been searching for that solution to save my eyesight.

The better idea is to covert everything to using those ereading devices from Amazon or Sony, but those can be considered frivious purchases, that I actually see some reveiws, as saying – that paper is much better.

Currently as a adjunct, my supervisor tasked me to learning as much as I can about instutiional repostitories. Another is for personal reasons, but it is community college, and reference with technology.

So now kinda stressing over the fact that I have to try and read as much pdfs on. How should one feel when confronted with this much pdfs to read. I will probably secumb to the lure of purcahsing an ereader one of these days.. but it is so aggravating to try and save toner, paper, weight, and space. I doubt my desk can hodl up all the paper I want to print.

Written by Linda

March 7, 2009 at 2:46 am

Posted in Random Thought

Leave a Reply

